Not my finest moment - Mickelson issues apology after U.S. Open controversy

Phil Mickelson appeared to have a rush of blood as he hit a still moving putt Saturday

Phil Mickelson appeared to have a rush of blood as he hit a still moving putt Saturday

The 48-year old Mickelson, and instead of waiting for his putt on the 13th green to come to a full rest, rushed and hit it again before the ball had a chance to roll well past the hole and likely off the green. An announcer for Fox said Mickelson "snapped".

Phil Mickelson caused a social media storm and much discussion between fans, pundits and players when the multiple major champion decided to deliberately make a stroke at his moving ball on the 13th green at Shinnecock Hills on Saturday.

"If there was a chance it was going to go back behind the bunker and he's got to chip back or he was going to play off the green anyway.so he was potentially saving himself a shot".

Mickelson said he was happy to accept the penalty after admitting he "didn't feel like going back and forth" on the hole - comments which Lee believes could attract disdain from his competitors. "I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions".

U.S. Open 2018: Final results, leaderboard (Brooks Koepka winner)
Then there was Phil Mickelson's "putt-gate" controversy when the five-time major champion deliberately hit a moving ball. And with a cool head and a hot putter, he didn't give anyone a chance down the stretch Sunday at Shinnecock Hills .

"I think you've got to because it was outrageous what they did to the course".

Returning to the scene of the "crime", Mickelson made par on the 13th for a six-shot improvement from round three before raising his arms in mock triumph.

The five-time major champion was given a two-shot penalty and signed for an 11-over 81 on his 48th birthday amid calls for him to be disqualified.

USGA chief executive Mike Davis later revealed that Mickelson had telephoned him to clarify whether or not he should have been disqualified. His wife, Amy, was quoted as saying, "You know it's not his finest moment, but hopefully he'll learn from it". He played a moving ball'.

Oil ministers back output hike despite Irans walkout
Iran has bulked at the request because it faces sanctions after President Donald Trump ripped up an worldwide nuclear agreement. Trump slapped fresh sanctions on Tehran in May and market watchers expect Iran's output to drop by a third by the end of 2018.

On Sunday morning, the USGA issued a statement clarifying its position, contending that because Mickelson "made a stroke at the ball ... as opposed to another act to deflect or stop the ball in motion", his act specifically fell under rule 14-5 and not 1-2, and thus there were no grounds for disqualification.

USGA officials said disqualification was not in order for his violation.

'That's different than if he had deliberately just stopped the ball or whacked it in another direction or something like that.

Rickie Fowler, who played alongside Mickelson in the final round, felt Mickelson had not been guilty of a breach of etiquette, adding: 'It just shows you how borderline that pin [on 13] could be'. I don't think any people who really have this game of golf to heart looked upon that as a really good thing to do.

Trump says will sign something 'pre-emptive' on immigration border policy
But some worry the lack of a clear resolution could exacerbate an already tough situation as his party heads toward the mid-terms. It is immoral to lock up children for an undetermined amount of time while families wait through a drawn-out legal process.

Latest News